Student Council election forces run-off

Editor’s note: This article was initially published in The Daily Gazette, Swarthmore’s online, daily newspaper founded in Fall 1996. As of Fall 2018, the DG has merged with The Phoenix. See the about page to read more about the DG.

With the margin of error of 43 votes in last week’s election for Educational Policy Representative exceeding the 18 vote gap between the top two candidates, the Student Council constitution requires a run-off election which will be held this coming week. Hunter Bandy ’07 and Caitlin Hildebrand ’05 will be the candidates appearing in the run-off contest. Results for the original election are:

Caitlin Hildebrand: 219
Hunter Bandy: 201
Rasa Petrauskaite: 146
Michael Cohen: 54
Alexander Ginsberg: 33
Brian Park: 7
Bryan Lantz: 1
No Preference: 47
None of the Above: 23

Total # of Votes: 731
# of recorded votes: 688
Margin of Error: 43

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The Phoenix

Discover more from The Phoenix

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading