BDS Vote Leaves SJP Frustrated, SGO Divided

Note: due to the targeted harassment towards individuals who have spoken about BDS, we have made certain individuals anonymous at their request. As reported by The Phoenix last week, the Student Government Organization (SGO) voted down a resolution brought to them by

Surprise visit disrupts SGO vote on BDS resolution

Two weeks ago, Students for Justice in Palestine (SJP) approached the Student Government Organization (SGO), proposing a SGO resolution in support of the Boycott, Divest, Sanction (BDS) campaign. SJP launched the campaign in October 2018, which calls the Swarthmore College to divest

SGO Hopes Unexpected Vacancies Bring Cohesion, Enthusiasm

Student Government Organization (SGO) is reforming its policies, and appointing new members to several open positions in a special election after a recent sweep of impeachments and resignations. After the most recent departures as reported by the Phoenix, Dawson Epstein ’21 was

6 SGO Members Eligible for Impeachment; Appeals Possible

Student Government Organization president Gilbert Orbea ’19 and vice-president Kat Capossela ’21 have spearheaded a charge this semester to push back against the widespread campus perception that SGO is ineffective. On October 28, Capossela introduced a new attendance policy, which states that

Proposed SBC Independence Ignites Debate Within SGO

On September 27, Student Budget Committee Chair Yin Xiao ’20 submitted a series of proposed amendments to the Student Government Organization’s constitution to SGO members. What started as a debate about logistical changes to SBC’s procedures evolved into a debate about whether

How ‘Fall Worthstock’ Came to Be

This Saturday evening, artists J.I.D, EarthGang, and AVSTIN JAMES will perform at 7 p.m. in Worth Courtyard, following a last-minute change in artists. Henry Han ’20, who spearheaded the event now known around campus as “Fall Worthstock,” secured $60,000 from the Swarthmore

Newly Elected SGO Senators Discuss Priorities for this Semester

On September 14, Student Government Organization President Gilbert Orbea announced via email that Robert Gunn ’20 and Patrick McAnally ’21 were elected At-Large Senators and Ash Shukla ’22, Murtaza Ukani ’22, and Tyler White ’22 were elected Class of 2022 Senators. The

Many unopposed candidates, low voter turnout in SGO election

On March 21, the Student Government Organization announced the results of the Executive Board election. Several changes have been made to SGO Executive Board positions and the election process in the past few months. There was low student turnout for the election,

1 2 3 4 5 10