Aviva Aron-Dine ’05 takes first at debate nationals

Editor’s note: This article was initially published in The Daily Gazette, Swarthmore’s online, daily newspaper founded in Fall 1996. As of Fall 2018, the DG has merged with The Phoenix. See the about page to read more about the DG.

Last weekend four Swarthmore debaters competed against the top debaters from across the United States at the American Parliamentary Debate Association Nationals championship. Aviva Aron-Dine ’05, debating with Sonya Hoo ’05, culminated one of the most distinguished debate careers in the history of the Swarthmore team as she finished first in a field of 134 debaters.

Hoo also wrapped up her debate career in fine form, taking home the 13th place individual trophy. Aron-Dine and Hoo were the 10th place team overall, and Emily Tredeau ’06 and Julie Baker ’08 were the 25th place team overall.

Aron-Dine completed an equally impressive performance two weekends ago at the Yale University Debate Tournament. Sher and her teammate Arianna Kelly of Harvard University placed 5th in a field of 91 teams, with Aron-Dine again taking home the 1st place individual speaker trophy. Julie Baker ’08 and Shauro Bagchi from the University of Maryland finished at 6th place in the novice field.

Thanks to Garth Sheldon-Coulson for providing the results.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *