2006-2007 Debate Results

Editor’s note: This article was initially published in The Daily Gazette, Swarthmore’s online, daily newspaper founded in Fall 1996. As of Fall 2018, the DG has merged with The Phoenix. See the about page to read more about the DG.

The Amos J. Peaslee Debate Society ends another successful semester. On April 6 and 7, the Debate Society hosted a tournament of about forty teams from schools around the country. Special thanks to everyone who hosted debaters. The Amos J. Peaslee Debate Society competed at Amherst College (April 13-14), Vassar College (April 20-22), and Hobart and William Smith Colleges (April 27-28). Following are the tournament results:

At Amherst College, the team of Chris Ford ’07 and Julie Baker ’08 were 7th place team overall. Julie was awarded 3rd place speaker.

American Parliamentary Debate Association convened for Nationals at Vassar College. This is the biggest tournament of the year at which the best and the brightest compete for the team-of-the-year and the speaker-of-the-year awards and are recognized for their great achievement throughout the year. Baker was given special recognition as 7th place speaker of the year. Ford and Baker came out with a solid rank of 25th place team.

At Hobart and William Smith Colleges, the team of Baker and Marissa Maleck of Amherst College were 5th place team. The team of Chris Sawyer ’10 and Cyrus Stoller ’10 were 6th place team. Baker was 7th place speaker and Cyrus was the 10th place speaker.

Thanks to JeeYoung Oh ’08, Peaslee Vice-President, for providing the results.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The Phoenix

Discover more from The Phoenix

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading